DR Congo Ebola outbreak becomes country's deadliest
Disease
How the score is calculated
The score starts at 8. It adds points from recorded affected, deaths, displaced and casualty counts, plus terms found in the story title, event type or status. For each count, only its highest matching band is used.
- Affected people
- 1–999: +5 · 1,000–9,999: +12 · 10,000–99,999: +20 · 100,000–999,999: +28 · 1 million+: +35
- Deaths
- 1–9: +8 · 10–99: +14 · 100–999: +22 · 1,000+: +30
- Displaced people
- 1–9,999: +6 · 10,000–99,999: +12 · 100,000+: +18
- Casualties
- 100 or more: +8
- Story wording
- +10 for terms such as catastrophe, famine, war, conflict, major earthquake, mass casualty or critical. Otherwise, +5 for active, ongoing, emergency, outbreak, cyclone or hurricane.
Score bands: Watch 0–24 · Moderate 25–49 · High 50–74 · Critical 75–100. Scores are capped at 100. Missing or unparseable figures add no points.
This is a rule-based WorldsAid triage indicator, not an official or independently validated classification. It does not account for recency or local context, and it can understate events with incomplete reporting. Check the linked sources.
In brief
- What happenedThe Democratic Republic of the Congo's Bundibugyo Ebola outbreak continued to expand through early September 2026.
- How many affectedAffected persons: 6,757 · Deaths: 3,267 · Confirmed infections: 6,757
- What help is neededResponse priorities should be confirmed in the linked source reports as needs change.
What changed
Updated verified snapshot
This record was first dated 2026-08-24 and last verified 2026-09-10.
Situation
The Democratic Republic of the Congo's Bundibugyo Ebola outbreak continued to expand through early September 2026. WHO reported 6,757 confirmed cases and 3,267 confirmed deaths in the country as of 7 September, affecting 61 health zones across six provinces. Ituri remained the epicentre with 5,406 confirmed cases, while North Kivu reported the highest observed provincial case-fatality ratio. WHO warned that insecurity, displacement, damaged services and difficult access continued to hinder surveillance, treatment and safe response operations.
Linked charities and agencies
WorldsAid verification
A WorldsAid editor reviewed this record against 4 attributed sources, cleaned feed formatting and checked the crisis, place and reporting date. 9 human-impact figures were separated from the narrative and dated where the source allowed. Earlier observations remain in the evidence history instead of being silently overwritten.
Verified figures
- Affected persons
- 6,757 retained at 2026-09-10
- Deaths
- 3,267 retained at 2026-09-10
- Confirmed infections
- 6,757 retained at 2026-09-10
- Displaced persons
- Not reported by source retained at 2026-09-10
- Affected provinces
- 6 retained at 2026-09-10
- Affected families
- Not reported by source retained at 2026-09-10
- Refugees
- Not reported by source retained at 2026-09-10
- Cases in Ituri
- 5,406 retained at 2026-09-10
- Affected health zones
- 61 retained at 2026-09-10
What we knew when
- WorldsAid record entered the retained historical dataset.
- Last verification represented by this immutable snapshot.
Earlier figures are never replaced by later values; additional observations are retained as new ledger entries.
Provenance
This page renders the last verified WorldsAid cache directly in HTML. It does not treat generated summaries as primary evidence.
Cached dataset: worldsai_drup771.sql.gz
Verified
SHA-256 c5d94d2e77485c4ee698d325de44eed49e8bb63db5c10ab3c6620272fe487270